Introduction to Diploma in Engineering / Polytechnic

The word polytechnic is derived from the Greek word 'poli' meaning many and 'tekhnikos' meaning arts. Polytechnic offers a variety of professional courses, both technical and vocational in nature. The Polytechnic provides various career courses and allows a person to start his own business or get a decent job at a reputed place.

  • Diploma in Mechanical Engineering
  • Diploma in Electrical Engineering
  • Diploma in electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Diploma in Civil Engineering
  • Diploma in Information Technology
  • Diploma in Automible Engineering
  • Diploma in Marine Mechanical Engineering
  • Diploma in Mining Engineering

  • There are three levels of Diploma:

    The Foundation Diploma : is a level 1 qualification and is equivalent to five GCSEs grade D-G.

    The Higher Diploma - is a level 2 qualification and is equivalent to seven GCSEs grade A*-C.

    The Advanced Diploma - is a level 3 qualification and is equivalent to 3.5 A levels grade A*-E.

    A Progression Diploma (also level 3) will be equivalent to 2.5 A levels. This Diploma will suit students who do not wish to complete a whole Advanced Diploma.
    In Year 10 or 12, you can do the:

    Foundation Diploma

    Higher Diploma

    after which you can do other Diploma levels, A Levels, a job, an apprenticeship, or other training.
    In Year 12 or above, you can do the:

    Advanced Diploma
    Progression Diploma (like the Advanced Diploma, but without various options, equivalent to 2 A Levels) which can take you to university, college, a job or other training.